WINDASPES: 2nd Workshop on INformation Driven Applications for Smart Power and Energy Systems



The complexity of physical power and energy systems makes their management a difficult task often requiring solutions that are cost ineffective and time consuming. However, the integration of technological advances in internet based computing and control methods with power and energy systems has led to cyber-physical systems capable of managing electric power generation, transmission and distribution. These cyber-physical systems exhibit a degree of smartness by equipping them with information exchange and processing capabilities. Information utilized may include anything from historical or predicted data, system state estimates, fault detections etc.

Applications of smart information tools taken from various areas, such as, but not limited to artificial intelligence, game theory and signal processing find wide use in power and energy systems, and thus contributing in their autonomous and efficient operation.


Topics of interest for this special session include, but not limited to:

Information tools in:

  • Smart Grids
  • Power system management
  • Fault detection
  • Signal processing
  • State Prediction
  • Load/price forecasting
  • Energy generation
  • Energy planning and scheduling
  • Intelligent meters/Intelligent sensors

Honorary Chair
Prof. Lefteri Tsoukalas, Purdue University, USA (

Workshop Chair
Dr. Miltos Alamaniotis, University of Utah, USA (

International Chair
Dr. Vivek Agarwal, Idaho National Laboratory, USA

Steering Committee
Prof. Dimitrios Bargiotas, Technological Institute of Chalkida, Greece
Prof. Nickolas Bourbakis, Wright State University, USA
Prof. Manolis Vavalis, University of Thessaly, Greeec
Prof. Alexandros Chroneos, Imperial College, UK
Prof. Ioannis Goulatis, Kharkiv National University, Ukraine
Dr. Andreas Ikonomopoulos, Research Institute “Demokritos”, Greece

Important Dates:

Paper Submission Deadline: May 14, 2015

Notification of Rejection/Acceptance: May 20, 2015


Information for Authors: